Seascapes: Music from Britten’s Peter Grimes

Seascapes: Music from Britten’s Peter Grimes

  • Location:848 Lake St, Oak Park, IL 60301
  • Venue:First United Church
  • Time:04:00 pm

Music at First Concert Series

Lisa Flynn of WFMT will conduct a preconcert interview with Craig Garner at 3:30 on February 21.

The Chicago Gargoyle Brass and Organ Ensemble’s first concert program of 2016 will feature the world premiere of a new arrangement of Benjamin Britten’s evocative “Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia” from his dramatic opera “Peter Grimes.” The arrangement, commissioned by the ensemble and written by Craig Garner, is based on Britten’s own, widely performed orchestral version of the same music, which mirrors the plot and setting of a tragic story that unfolds in an English seacoast village.

The nautical-themed concert will include the world premiere of another commissioned arrangement: Garner’s “Suite from Water Music,” based on G. F. Handel’s popular baroque masterpiece, plus Claude Debussy’s French impressionist “La cathédrale engloutie” (The Sunken Cathedral), written for and performed on solo piano; and the “Russian Sailor’s Dance” from Reinhold Glière’s ballet “The Red Poppy.”

Vaughn Williams’ “Two Preludes for Organ” (“Bryn Calfaria” and “Rhosymedre”), and Michael Burkhardt’s organ and brass arrangement of the hymn “You Call Us, Lord to be,” based on a Welsh folk tune, round out the program.

Single tickets are $15 general admission, $10 students.

This concert is presented as part of First United Church of Oak Park’s  “Music at First” series.

3:30 Lisa Flynn with Craig Garner

4:00 Concert

5:15 Free reception hosted by Music at First